MOTOR VEHICLE POINT SYSTEM IN NEW JERSEY
Traffic violations result in having points added to your license, and with enough points, you can lose your driving privileges. Learn about the motor vehicle point system with helpful information from the Law Offices of Elliot S. Stomel, P.C. in Cherry Hill, New Jersey.
What are points?
The New Jersey Motor Vehicles Commission (MVC) assesses points against your driving record for moving violations. If you accumulate 12 or more points within two years, your license will be suspended for 30 days. If you accumulate 15 or more points in more than two years, there is also a 30-day suspension.
However, if you accumulate more than 12 but fewer than 15 points in a period of greater than two years, your license will be suspended for 30 days unless you send notice to the MVC within 10 days of the date of the mailing indicating that you intend to attend a Driver Improvement Course.
Suspensions are effective 30 days from the date of the mailing of the notice by the MVC. In the event you fail to appear at any scheduled hearing or fail to attend class, your driving privilege will be suspended for 30 days or such time as is contained in the proposed notice of suspension.
If you successfully complete a Driver’s Improvement Course, your license will remain valid. However, if you receive a moving violation within the first year after completing the course, there will be a 45-day suspension. If a second offense is committed within one year of completion, the suspension will be for 90 days.